Municipal Affairs and Environment

Water and Wastewater System Classification

Facilities are divided into the following four operational categories:

  • Water Distribution (WD)
  • Water Treatment (WT)
  • Wastewater Collection (WWC)
  • Wastewater Treatment (WWT)

Each category is further divided into four Classes designated as Class I, II, III, or IV. The Class designations for water distribution and wastewater collection systems are assigned according to population serviced. Classification of water or wastewater treatment facilities is based on a point system that evaluates the configuration and operational complexity of the facility. The assignment of points is done in accordance with the Association of Boards of Certification.

Facility Evaluation Units Class І Class IІ Class ІII Class ІV
WD Population serviced ≤ 1500 1501 – 15,000 15,001 – 50,000 ≥ 50,001
WT Points ≤ 30 31 - 55 56 - 75 ≥ 76
WWC Population services ≤ 1500 1501 – 15,000 15,001 – 50,000 ≥ 50,001
WWT Points ≤ 30 31 - 55 56 - 75 ≥ 76

For information on the points assigned to your water and/or wastewater treatment facility, contact the Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment, Community Water and Wastewater Section.

Genny DeCoste

Community water and Wastewater
Eastern Region and Central Region (east of Badger)
Tel: (709) 729-2558
Fax: (709) 729-0320

Chris Blanchard

Community water and Wastewater
Western/Labrador Region and Central Region (Badger and west)
Tel: (709) 637-2034
Fax: (709) 637-2541

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader software can be used for viewing PDF documents. Download Acrobat® Reader for free. opens new window

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.