Municipal Affairs and Environment

Registration 1751

Howse Property Direct Shipping Ore Mine

Proponent: Howse Minerals Limited

Summary of Environmental Assessment Process

Project Description:

The proponent proposes to develop the iron ore deposit at Howse Property with support of adjacent infrastructure. The deposit is located in western Labrador 25 kilometres northwest of Schefferville, Quebec, between Irony Mountain, Pinette Lake and the existing Tata Steel Minerals Canada Ltd. (TSMC) Timmins 4 mine. A conventional open pit drill and blast mining method will be used at the Howse Property. The extracted iron ore will be crushed and screened on-site, hauled by truck to the existing TSMC’s Direct Shipping Ore Project rail loop and then shipped by train to Sept-Iles Quebec. The physical works and activities include an open pit (approximately 72 hectares), stockpiles, waste rock dump, a crushing and screening facility, access and haul road and water management infrastructure. The seven to ten month construction period is scheduled to begin in 2016 followed immediately by the operation phase. The mine is expected to be in operation until 2027 with decommissioning and rehabilitation to begin prior to the end of mining operations.

  • April 2, 2014 - The undertaking was registered.
  • May 8, 2014 - Deadline for public comments.
  • May 17, 2014 - The minister’s decision is due.
  • June 19, 2014 - Environmental preview report required.
  • June 24, 2014 - Environmental assessment committee appointed.
  • December 31, 2014 - EPR Guidelines Approved.
  • April 20, 2016 - Environmental Preview Report Submitted.
  • November 2, 2016 - Amendment to Environmental Preview Report Submitted.
  • December 8, 2016 - Deadline for public comments on EPR Amendment.
  • December 18, 2016 - The minister's decision is due.
  • March 24, 2017 - The project is released.

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader software can be used for viewing PDF documents. Download Acrobat® Reader for free opens new window

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.