Municipal Affairs and Environment

Registration 1593

Forest Management Districts 10, 11,12 and 13: Crown Five-Year Operating Plan (2011-2015) - Resubmission

Proponent: Department of Natural Resources

Summary of Environmental Assessment Process

Project Description:

The passing of Bill 75 resulted in the expropriation and return to Crown all timber lands associated with Forest Management Districts (FMDs) 10, 11, 12 and 13, previously vested to Abitibi-Bowater. With the return of these timber lands to the Crown, it was the Department of Natural Resources position that the management of these lands would be consistent with the strategies and philosophies in effect in all other crown managed districts in the province. This plan which covers the period January 1, 2011 to December 31, 2015 reflects these changes and will replace the 2008-2012 plan previously prepared by Abitibi-Bowater for this area. Planning Zone 5 encompasses FMDs 10, 11, 12 and 13. It is located in central Newfoundland and extends from Victoria Lake in the west to the Bay D’Espoir highway in the east and from Island Pond in the south to North and South Twin Lakes in the north. Major towns located within the zone are Bishop’s Falls, Grand Falls- Windsor, Badger, Millertown and Buchans. Approximately 2.4 million cubic metres of timber are scheduled to be harvested. Harvesting activities will include pulpwood, sawlog and fuelwood using chainsaws and mechanical harvesters. Skidders may be used for some slope harvesting and chainsaws for domestic harvesting. Approximately 200 kilometres of primary forest access roads will be constructed over the five-year operating plan.

  • July 7, 2011 - The undertaking was registered.
  • August 12, 2011 - Public comments are due.
  • August 20, 2011 - The Minister's decision is due.
  • November 2, 2011 - The Minister announced that the project is released.
  • July 5, 2012 - Memorandum of Understanding and Adaptive Management Research Project Accepted.

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader software can be used for viewing PDF documents. Download Acrobat® Reader for free opens new window

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.